Capitol Christian Music Group Wins at the 44th Annual GMA Dove Awards

The 44th Annual GMA Doves Awards, a celebration of Gospel and Christian music’s, were handed out on October 15 in Nashville. The event was hosted by Amy Grant and Kirk Franklin.  

Capitol Christian Music Group (CCMG) was involved in 28 out of 42 Dove Awards. CCMG and its labels and publishing (CCMG Publishing, CCMG Label Group, Motown Gospel) have already had an outstanding year in sales, market share growth and radio play, and the high number of awards are representative of that success. 

Matt Redman won multiple awards including Song of the Year, Songwriter of the Year, Pop Contemporary Song, and Praise & Worship Song. Toby Mac won Artist of the Year and Pop Contemporary Album. Jason Crabb also received multiple awards including Inspirational Song, Southern Gospel and Inspirational Album, Love is Stronger.  

Toby Mac opened the awards with a vibrant performance of “Eye On It.” Matt Redman performed his multiple award-winning song “10,000 Reasons (Bless The Lord).” Other energy-filled performances included “Break Every Chain” by Tasha Cobbs and “What the Blood is For” by Jason Crabb. 

The entire pre-show and behind-the-scenes footage was seen streamed live on hearitfirst.com. The will air on Monday, October 21 at 8:00P.M./EDT exclusively on UP, America’s favorite network for uplifting entertainment.  

Below is a list of CCMG winners. An asterisk (*) denotes a distributed label. 

Song of the Year
“10,000 Reasons (Bless the Lord)”
By Matt Redman
Writers: Matt Redman & Jonas Myrin

Songwriter of the Year
Matt Redman
Hits Include: “Our God”, Chris Tomlin; “10,000 Reasons (Bless the Lord)” Matt Redman

Artist of the Year
Toby Mac

Pop Contemporary Song
“10,000 Reasons (Bless the Lord)”
By Matt Redman
Writers: Matt Redman & Jonas Myrin

Inspirational Song*
By Jason Crabb
Writers: Tony Wood & Ronnie Freeman

Southern Gospel Song*
“What the Blood is For”
By Jason Crabb
Writers: Ronnie Freeman, and Tony Wood

Country Song
“From My Rags to His Riches”
By Devin McGlamery with Daily & Vincent
Writers: Ernie Haase, Wayne Haun, Joel Lindsey

Contemporary Gospel/Urban Song
“Break Every Chain”
By Tasha Cobbs
Writer: William Reagan

Traditional Gospel Song
“Take Me To The King”
By Tamala Mann
Writer: Kirk Franklin

Praise & Worship Song
“10,000 Reasons (Bless the Lord)”
By Matt Redman
Writers: Matt Redman & Jonas Myrin

Rock Contemporary Album
A Messenger
By Colton Dixon

Pop Contemporary
Eye On It
By Toby Mac

Inspirational Album*
Love is Stronger
By Jason Crabb

Southern Gospel Album*
Canton Junction
By Canton Junction

Southern Gospel Album*
Pure and Simple
By Gaither Vocal Band

Country Album*
Eyes Wide Open
By Jeff & Sheri Easter 

Contemporary Gospel/Urban Album
By Tasha Cobbs

Children’s Music Album*
Look Up
By Gateway Next (Anna Byrd, Dara Maclean, Kiley Stephenson, Josh Coad, Cody Carnes, Kari Jobe, Grace Kane, Matt Birkenfeld, Joshua Fewell, Valerie Hayes and Clay Collins)

Spanish Album
Global Project Español (con Marcos Witt, Alex Campos, Marco Barrientos, Marcela Gandara)
By Hillsong

Special Event Album
Passion: Let The Future Begin
By: Chris Tomlin, Kristian Stanfill, Matt Redman, Brett Younker, Kari Jobe, Crowder, Christy Nockels

Praise Worship Album
Burning Lights
By Chris Tomlin

Christ The Redeemer
Creators: Joel Lindsey, Jeff Bumgardner, Daniel Simpson (arranger) Daniel Semsen

Recorded Music Packaging 
Eye On It
By Toby Mac
Art Director: Jan Cook

Short Form Video
“Eye on It”
By: Toby Mac (feat. Britt Nicole)

Long Form Video
Hillsong UNITED: Live in Miami 
By Hillsong UNITED