HONG KONG, August 30, 2005 – Universal Music Publishing Group (UMPG) has signed an exclusive new licensing and royalties deal with Asia’s most prominent independent publishing label, Rock Music Publishing, announced Tony Yapp, Regional Director of Universal Music Publishing Southeast Asia.

Effective September 1, 2005, the agreement with the Taiwan-based publishing company will grant UMPG the licensing and royalty collection rights to more than 5,000 hit titles from all back catalogue and forthcoming releases worldwide, excluding the territories of Taiwan and the People’s Republic of China.

Rock Music Publishing, a division of Asia’s most prolific independent record label Rock Records, is a dominant player in the Chinese-language music scene. While Rock Records has the largest and strongest catalogue of Mandarin-language hits in the region since its inception in 1986, the publishing arm boasts a star-studded list of author and composer signings, including Taiwanese legends Wu Bai and Zhang Zhen Yue.

Tony Yapp said, “We are honoured to team up with such a reputable industry great like Rock Music Publishing. The talent they have nurtured and the hits they have created over the decades are remarkable. With our expertise, such fine work will attain the strong global positioning it deserves.”

The Rock Music Publishing roster includes A Xin, Lin Jian Hua, Pin Guan, Wu Bai and Xiao Chong from Taiwan. Korean writers include Kim Chang Hwan, Kim Woo Jin, Lee Young Ki and Shin In Soo. Back catalogue highlights are “Olive Tree” (Chyi), “Red Face With White Hair” (Leslie Cheung), “Heart Is Too Soft” (Richie Jen), “Tomorrow Will Be Better” (various) and “A New Never-ending Love” (Wan Fang).

“Rock Music Publishing is very proud of its signings and achievements over the years. Our alliance with Universal Music Publishing will deliver our music to a global platform to Chinese music lovers everywhere,” says Sam Duann, President of Rock Group International.