///Corporate

UNIVERSAL MUSIC GROUP OFFERS MUSIC FANS LARGEST CATALOG OF DIGITAL DOWNLOADS – LAUNCHING WITH MORE THAN 43,000 TRACKS

Consumers can purchase, burn and transfer songs to portable devices for 99 cents per individual track/$9.99 per album

Exclusive pre-release date content will feature Mariah Carey single "Through the Rain"



New York, New York and Santa Monica, California, November 20, 2002
– Taking a major step forward in its effort to make more music available to more people in more ways, Universal Music Group (UMG), the world’s largest music company, announced today the availability of more than 43,000 music tracks for digital downloading to consumers through a host of leading retail and music Web sites. UMG is the first major label to offer music fans such a broad catalog of music tracks for preview and purchase. The downloads will be burnable to CD and transferable to secure portable devices. The digital tracks will be available for purchase by consumers in the U.S. for 99 cents for individual tracks and $9.99 for albums.

Using technology from Liquid Audio, music fans can purchase tracks from the UMG digital catalog, which spans many genres including classical, jazz, rock, pop, R&B, blues, and country, and includes a wide variety of UMG artists such as Ashanti, Diana Krall, Eminem, Jay-Z, Nelly, Shaggy, Shania Twain, Sheryl Crow, and U2, to only name a few. The digital catalog includes current and catalog releases. Music fans can preview and purchase music tracks in both the Liquid Audio and Windows Media formats.

UMG is kicking off this exciting initiative by making the new single from award-winning musical superstar Mariah Carey available online before the release of her upcoming album. The new single "Through the Rain" will be exclusively available to online consumers for the first two weeks after the launch. The single is available to music fans in the U.S. for 99 cents through Web sites selling UMG digital downloads. The track is the first single to be released from Charmbracelet (Island Records), which will be available in stores on December 3.

"This is a watershed moment. Universal is committed to making every recording it controls available for Internet distribution. We have listened to the public, and we are offering the music that people want at a reasonable price that fairly compensates the artists, songwriters and the tens of thousands of hard-working individuals who make their living in the music industry," said Larry Kenswil, President, Universal Music Group, eLabs. "There is nothing that can justify resorting to illegal services to get UMG music on the Internet."

"We’re thrilled that Universal has chosen Liquid Audio to be their digital music service provider for this groundbreaking launch," said Gerry Kearby, President and CEO, Liquid Audio. "The depth and breadth of the content, the array of so many important affiliates and the consumer offering are all precedent setting. Universal is raising the bar for the delivery of secure digital music."

"UMVD is excited about spearheading this new opportunity with our retail partners," commented Jim Urie, President, Universal Music and Video Distribution. "We are constantly looking for new and innovative ways to drive business and market our music. This is truly a significant step in the digital distribution revolution, empowering our customers to give the consumer hit music in any format, physical or digital, they desire."

The digital downloads are available today through the following retailers and music sites:

AudioCandy (www.audiocandy.com)

Best Buy (www.bestbuy.com)

BET (www.bet.com)

Cats (www.catsmusic.com)

Circuit City (www.circuitycity.com)

College Concerts (www.collegeconcerts.com)

Compact Disc World (www.clubcd.com)

Corner CD (www.cornercd.com)

Dimples (www.dimple.com)

EarWax (www.earwaxrecords.com)

Electric Fetus (www.electricfetus.com)

Face The Music (www.face.the.com)

TransWorld (www.fye.com)

Gallery Of Sound (www.galleryofsound.com)

Independent Record (www.beindependent.com)

Latin Noise (www.latinnoise.com)

Mainstreet (www.mainstreetmusic.com)

Millennium Music (www.millenniummusic.com)

MIRA Coalition (www.miramag.com)

Music Millennium (www.musicmillennium.com)

Music Rebellion (www.musicrebellion.com)

New World Record (www.newworldrecord.com)

MP3.com (www.mp3.com)

Quonset Hut (www.qhut.com)

Rasputin (www.rasputinmusic.com)

Record & Tape Trader (www.recordandtapetraders.com)

Rolling Stone (www.rollingstone.com)

Tower (www.tower.com)

Windows Media (www.windowsmedia.com)

A complete list of those sites selling UMG a la carte downloads is posted at http://www.umusic.com/newformats/dmd/.

About Universal Music Group

Universal Music Group is the world's leading music company with wholly-owned record operations or licensees in 63 countries. Its businesses also include Universal Music Publishing Group, one of the industry’s largest global music publishing operations.

Universal Music Group consists of record labels Decca Record Company, Deutsche Grammophon, Interscope Geffen A&M Records, Island Def Jam Music Group, Lost Highway Records, MCA Nashville, MCA Records, Mercury Records, Motown Records, Philips, Polydor, Universal Music Latino, Universal Records, and Verve Music Group as well as a multitude of record labels owned or distributed by its record company subsidiaries around the world. The Universal Music Group owns the most extensive catalog of music in the industry, which is marketed through two distinct divisions, Universal Music Enterprises (in the U.S.) and Strategic Marketing and Commercial Affairs (outside the U.S.). Universal Music Group also includes eLabs, a new media and technology division.

Universal Music Group is a unit of Vivendi Universal, a global media and communications company.

Hits